wiring schm/ a.c. after market

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-03, 02:52 PM
pistol2fix
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
wiring schm/ a.c. after market

for the past 3 summers, I have burnt the switch out in my a.c. The wire that goes to the high, gets so hot it melts the back of the switch. Ive added a in-line fuse, to no availe.
this is an after market unit that cools perfectly. when i read the ford manual for my van, i see a 'resistor' in the a.c. wiring? i need help on what is the proper wiring, as it will soon be in the 110 degree zone. Heeelllpppp!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-29-03, 05:15 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
It would help to know the vehicle year, make, model and what aftermarket A/C system it has.

Some Fords have had problems with poor A/C switch pigtails. Any parts store should have a replacement which is upgraded with better and thicker wires.
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-03, 05:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
You could wire in a relay just for hi to take the load off the switch.Just use heavier wire on the load side of your new circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 05-01-03, 04:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Colorado
Posts: 431
I agree with the installation of a relay..almost all Factory A/C fans use a relay for High blower setting. Without the relay you draw too much current through the switch and its not made to handle it.
 
  #5  
Old 05-01-03, 06:44 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Original poster: Who makes your system?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes