Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

97 Grand Prix- Wipers pause mid of windshield

Visiting Guest

05-30-03, 11:03 AM   #1  
dishguy
97 Grand Prix- Wipers pause mid of windshield

The windshield wipers work normally in continuous setting but when set on any "intermittent" setting, they have their pause at middle of windshield! Very distracting /dangerous.
Is this most likely due to the "multifunction" control on the steering column? I am an electronics technician and am wondering if this is something I could get into myself and repair or if not really repairable, is it something I can purchase other than at a dealer (high prices) and would it be possilbe without special tools to make the replacement? Would there be a reference manual that would "walk" me thru this process?
Thanks

Sponsored Links
Visiting Guest

05-30-03, 11:39 AM   #2  
Joe_F
The reference manual would be a GM service manual or $25.00 Alldata.com subscription.

Alldata.com turns up this one: 73-82-05A APR 98 Wipers - Park At Incorrect Location . You can see any GM dealer and have them print off a full copy to see if the symptoms match yours. If so, you'll know what the fix is.

No the only parts source is the dealer. No, it's not a DIY repair if the column switch is bad. The air bag is involved and requires a special disconnect procedure.

Visiting Guest

05-30-03, 12:05 PM   #3  
darrell McCoy
sometime in 2000 I think there began a recall on this, pertains to arms and linkages. If you didnt get one, maybe lost in shuffle or you bought car used. Take this number in to the dealer
99V348000 see if he smiles or frowns, describe problem and you may get a freebie.

06-01-03, 09:59 AM   #4