Help needed with Installing a distributor on a Sunbird 90

Old 06-23-03, 10:51 AM
Spursfan
Visiting Guest
Question Help needed with Installing a distributor on a Sunbird 90

I would realy love to get tips on installing a used distributor on my Pontiac Sunbird 1990. I was not getting a spark and it turns out my distributor was fried. I checked it and discovered some oil was leaking into it. I was adviced to get a used one rather than go about repairing the bad one. I now have a used distributor and would like to mount it but was jittery coz I have never done this before. I am pretty confident I can do it but if you greasy-hands out there have tips, I am all ears! I am concerned about positioning and mounting so that I do not disrupt the timing!! Get back to me soon before I take the plunge!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-23-03, 11:54 AM
Here is the steps directly out of Chiltons Auto Library
1. Disconnect the negative battery cable.
2. Tag and disconnect all wires leading from the distributor cap.
3. Remove the air cleaner housing.
4. Remove the distributor cap.
5. Disconnect the AIR pipe-to-exhaust manifold hose at the air management valve.
6. Unscrew the rear engine lift bracket bolt and nut, lift it off the stud and then position the entire assembly out of the way to facilitate better access to the distributor.
7. Mark the position of the distributor, relative to the engine block and then scribe a mark on the distributor body indicating the initial position of the rotor.
8. Remove the hold-down nut and clamp from the base of the distributor. Remove the distributor from the engine. The drive gear on the distributor shaft is helical and the shaft will rotate slightly as the distributor is removed. Note and mark the position of the rotor at this second position. Do not crank the engine while the distributor is removed.
To install:

If the engine position was disturbed while the distributor was removed, refer to the appropriate installation procedure.