pontiac Grandam quad 4 overheating

Old 06-25-03, 03:59 PM
nightwing
Visiting Guest
Angry pontiac Grandam quad 4 overheating

Ok heres my problem i have a pontiac grandam quad4 i believe 2.3 liter As of Now i have had the head gasget replaced the head polished as necesary when replacing the head gasget thermostate changed 3 times now a new radiator put into the car YET IT STILL OVERHEATS!!!!!!!!! conditions summer right now when it over heats when it runs i have to constantly speed up to keep the temperature down on the care Yes you heard it right when looking at the dashboard (for fyi the gauges are shot) it reads about 270 but is actually about 50 degress suposidly cooler anyways when i drive the temperature gauge fluxuates from 0 to 280 i have no idea as to why it is still overheating as i am not a mechanic and am not that verse in car reprarations Any Suggestions or Help would be greatly appreciated as i have lost my mind with this car and am considering taking a sledge hammer and repitidly hitting the car wich would be a shame being that the body has no rust and is in perfect condition (I FORGOT TO ADD that i have had the system completely flushed all lines have been changed and all lines that deal with heating in the engine in general have been likewise cleaned out or changed)

Sponsored Links
Old 06-25-03, 04:13 PM
Is it really overheating? If the gauge is shot, how do you know it is getting that hot? If it is getting hot and you have to keep up the speed to keep it cool, the fan is not working properly. whoever is doing all this work should be testing the car before 3 thermostats get changed. If not, find a different mechanic.

Old 06-25-03, 04:18 PM
nightwing
Visiting Guest
fan