Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Tips for beginers

Visiting Guest

07-19-03, 04:47 PM   #1  
drace600
Tips for beginers

I am just a regular guy who is interested in Auto repair and restoration as a hobby. My Wife recomended I get a hobby and this is it. I have no real knowledge about auto motive repairs so I have been to the library and got a few books. here is my question. should I buy an old car (I want a 1983-85 olds cutlass, or chevy monte) and running or not just take the whole thing apart and put it back together with some new parts, or is there another way to start. I have a pretty good tool set that I have aquired over the years, and three cars that I own already but Im afraid to screw them up. one is an 85 corvette, the other is my daily driver a 90 honda accord and the last is the new family conversion van. other than routine stuff i take them to the shop. I dont really want to tear into any of those but I just started on an old lawn mower to see if I can get that running and I enjoy it. is this realistic to think I can build a hot car out of an old piece of crap or should I find another hobby. any encouragement and beginner stories would be appreciated. also any recomendations on good books on repairs, restoration and bodywork. thanks

Sponsored Links
Group Moderator

FL

07-19-03, 06:55 PM   #2