Need a drum/wl cyl replacement walkthru

Closed Thread

Old 07-29-03, 04:39 PM
jmann06405
Visiting Guest
Need a drum/wl cyl replacement walkthru

I have a 91 Dodge dynasty 3.3 liter, drum brakes in rear. I took it to a shop and they told me I needed new drums, wheel cylinders, bearing pack. And that the shoes and linings were ok. Problem is they wanted to charge me 500 bucks!
I picked up the parts yesterday for about $150 and with the help of an ASE friend in CT(Im in San Diego)and some research, got the basic procedure. I still have to get some jackstands. I have never done this procedure before.

If anyone would be kind enough to take me from A to Z on this one, I would be greatly appreciative. My main concern is not with the location of parts, removal/replacement, I seem to be pretty clear on that. My concern is blowing brake fluid everywhere or on me!

I'd love to have some qualified advice!

Jason Mann

Sponsored Links
Old 07-29-03, 07:30 PM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Arrow

I just did this with my friend on his 1991 Dodge Shadow. Same heap, different "body" for Chrysler.

1) The wheel cylinders sometimes freeze to the line. I usually hold the line with a vicegrip and spin the cylinder off the line.

2) Throw out all the bearings back there, replace them with new ones. Don't forget the seals too.

3) Take both drums off at once, but leave one side intact. If you need to know how something goes, walk around to the other side and walah!

4) Have a helper help you bleed all four brake bleeders. Spray the fronts with PB blaster, they're going to be rotted. LOL.

5) Change the drums, both wheel cylinders, all shoes, and new hardware. Get the holddown kits and combination kits for both sides.

Use good quality AMERICAN or CANADIAN made Raybestos, Wagner or Bendix made replacement parts. The offshore stuff is junk out of the box.

See autolibrary.org in my signature file below for more R&R help and pictures.

Old 07-29-03, 10:04 PM
Nascar24Fan
Visiting Guest
Thumbs down