Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

95 Mercury Tracer Transaxle woes

Visiting Guest

09-24-03, 02:45 PM   #1  
whoiswes
95 Mercury Tracer Transaxle INTERMITTENTLY dead...

i'm a newb here, so thanks in advance for putting up with me

anyways, here is the deal. i have a 95 mercury tracer, 1.9L inline four, with the four speed auto transaxle.

the car was bought used two years ago and has been a phenomenal car (especially since the purchase price was $100) - the only time it has failed me was when the timing belt snapped unexpectedly. otherwise, i've had nary a problem.

that is, until about a month ago. we're out shopping, i pull up to the curb to let my GF out, pull away to park, and the tranny starts slipping. i'd never had that happen before (in any car) so it was somewhat unsettling.

pulled into a spot, got out, did the shopping, and hoped it was a fluke and would be fine when we left. car started fine, went into gear, and got about 1/8 mile down the parking lot road before the transmission started slipping again. within 100 feet, i had NO drive whatsoever.

called a friend, hitched a ride home, did some research. went back and changed fluid and filter with new. car started fine, went into gear fine, and we got about 1/2 mile down the road before we got stopped at a red light. when light changed, car had no drive.

shut it off and put the blinkers on...waited for about a minute, started car, and problem was gone. we got another 1/2 mile down the road and it did the same thing. i'd start to lose power to the wheels, pull over, shut it off, and restart after a minute or two - car would act normal for about 30 seconds or so, then start to slip until there was no drive anymore.

after starting and stopping about 10 times, we gave up (because of a big hill ahead) and just had it towed.