Average work life of a Technician

Old 09-30-03, 09:04 AM
jabari
Visiting Guest
Average work life of a Technician

I am a 29year old automotive student & I was wondering what is the average work life of a tech? I have heard 20-to30 years. I have also heard that at my age I might be to old to start as a tech. Can some of you veterans answer this for me.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-30-03, 09:15 AM
Thumbs up My $.02 worth

You are never to old to learn a trade and make a living at it. You have to have the drive and ambition. I am a back yard mechanic but when the job is to big for me or to time consuming (I need the car for work on Monday) I turn the job over to my family mechanic. He has been at the same place for 30 years at least. My father-in-law referred me to him way back when. He has to be in his mid 60s and still on top of his game. It is up to WHAT YOU WANT OUT OF LIFE that will determine how long your in the game.

Doug

Old 09-30-03, 09:17 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
Jab:

As long as you want to be.

My grandfather is 92 and while he's "retired", he still cuts my hair and has customers coming over his house for him to cut their hair in his basement. I set him up with some equipment down there so he's ready to go.

Old 09-30-03, 09:19 AM
darrell McCoy
Visiting Guest
You are not to old to start. You can work as long as your body will let you AND as long as you can continue to grasp all the changes in this modern automotive world.

Old 09-30-03, 10:24 AM
Joe_F
Visiting Guest
AND you have the right attitude AND you enjoy what you do .

This was always my grandfather's case and that's why he was around in business as long as he was.

Just ask my mom...she couldn't get married on a Saturday in 1965 because my grandfather didn't want to close his shop for the day. LOL!

Old 10-01-03, 06:53 AM