Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Newbie Alert - Driving in Neutral

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 06:43 AM   #1  
Ostrak
Newbie Alert - Driving in Neutral

Ok folks...I am a newbie at this so please bear with my stupid questions.

I have a manual shift transmission for a 2002 Mazda Protege, and have been putting it in neutral when approaching all stops, then coasting out of gear until the car comes to a stop. I am wondering if this is harmful or helpful to the transmission or car. I started doing it, and it has become sort of a habit, but I would like to know if I could be casuing any damage to the vehicle. The car has about 70,000 on it. Please advise....thanks.

Sponsored Links

10-01-03, 06:48 AM   #2  
don't see a problem with this. It will cause u to use your brakes more, but personally, i'd rather buy brakes than transmission,or clutch.

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 06:48 AM   #3  
darrell McCoy
Loss of traction and increased wear on brakes.

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 06:54 AM   #4  
Ostrak
So I thought by depressing the clutch when approaching a stop is considered "Riding the clutch" and was definitely to be avoided....or are my friends just yanking my chain......thanks for responding so quickly as well folks.

Ostrak

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 07:00 AM   #5  
darrell McCoy
Myself, I would not do that, a bad habit, but it is your car. Clutch is for changing gears not "free wheeling".

10-01-03, 07:06 AM   #6  
IT IS NOT SLIPPING THE CLUTCH....

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 07:17 AM   #7  
Ostrak
Thanks guys.....there really never is a reliable source for this kind of basic info - until now.

Visiting Guest

10-01-03, 07:21 AM   #8  
Joe_F
I drive a 1979 4 speed Trans Am. I can tell you I use the brakes to stop the vehicle, not the clutch.

Downshifting is one thing, riding the clutch to slow/stop the vehicle is another.