Kia misfiring

Old 10-15-03, 06:10 PM
fishous
Visiting Guest
Kia misfiring

Have a 2000 Kia Sephia w/manual trans, 4 cylinder. Engine began misfiring and the check engine light came on. Misfiring occurs at all speeds. Did a diagnostic scan and trouble code was P0303, cylinder #3 misfire detected. I have put in a new set of plugs (after engine light came on). From what I have read the problem could be 1. bad plug wire 2. bad coil 3. defective fuel injector.
I'm a novice. How do I check these three and what else should I check?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-15-03, 07:40 PM
The quickest way to check whether it's the plug is to swap 2 of them. Take #3 and put it into #1, and #1 into #3. Clear the codes, and redrive. If the code comes back, but is now p0301 (misfire #1) then the plug is no good. If the code comes back the same as origanal, (p0303-#3) then swap plug wires the same way as you did the plugs. Clear the codes retest. If the code then comes back again as p0303 you've pretty much pinned it to the injector and/or injector wiring for #3.
This "method of testing" is base on the asumption you don't have access to scanners and scopes, but is also a valid test recommended by Snap-On scanner for many drivability problems...

Old 10-15-03, 07:49 PM
There are alot of variables to check for when you have a misfire code. This is the diagnostic procedure from Alldata. It is basically saying check for vacuum leaks and electrical problems. Pretty in-depth, but effective if you know what you are looking for.
INSPECTION
IMPORTANT! Record all freeze frame data
before disconnecting any connectors or
clearing code(s).

1. Check for any split, disconnected or perforated vacuum hoses. Also, check PCV valve fpr proper operation and Purge Solenoid Valve (PSV) for proper Installation and operation.
Are vacuum hoses, PCV and PSV okay?

YES - Go to step 2.
NO - Replace faulty vacuum hose(s), PCV or PSV.