1997 Taurus stuck in Park

Old 11-13-03, 06:16 AM
Rockerbraves
Visiting Guest
1997 Taurus stuck in Park

Not sure if I've given enough information. This is my first time posting on the forum.

My son can't get his 1997 Taurus out of park. The car starts right up but he is unable to shift from park to reverse or drive. He's a relatively new driver and claims he's never had any problem in the past few days shifting out of park. He's tried rocking the car & adjusting the steering coumn with no luck. Any advice for a nonmechanic would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Last edited by Rockerbraves; 11-13-03 at 06:27 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 11-13-03, 09:08 AM
Group Moderator
Barring an actual transmission problem itself (which are pretty much universal on Taurus/Sable transmissions), my guess would be the safety switch that has to be engaged when you step on the brake pedal that "unlocks" the shifter itself. Going to have to wait for someone more knowledgable for details or other ideas.

Check here to see what you can find:

http://www.cybrrpartspro.com/Manual%...delLookup.html

Old 11-13-03, 10:42 AM
I will second that motion. You must step on the brake while shifting out of park.

Old 11-13-03, 12:32 PM
Rockerbraves
Visiting Guest
Stepping on the brake does not get the car out of the park position Afraid to try and force it too much or I would likely snap something. Any other ideas I can try. Thanks guys.

Old 11-13-03, 12:55 PM
darrell McCoy
Visiting Guest
With the key in run position, not running, roll up windows and gently push brake, you should here a relay energize. If not your safety switch is either bad or out of adjustment. Not much up on fords so thats about all I can suggest.

Old 11-13-03, 01:51 PM
Rockerbraves
Visiting Guest
Thanks to all that replied. It's great to know there are people willing to give some advice to a guy like me who has limited auto repair knowledge.