Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

vacuum lines

11-18-03, 09:06 PM   #1  
vacuum lines

Hi. I am currently a student at a vo-tech college for diesel mechanics and I, for some reason, could never get a good explanation of exactly what vacuum lines are for. I never really messed with much automotive stuff, so I am more used to tractors and other lower-tech designs. From what I have heard, the engine and the transmission both use vacuum lines, but that's all I know. What do these vacuum lines opperate? What are they connected too? If someone could please explain in detail about these things I would REALLY appreciate it. Thanks a bunch!!!!!!!

Sponsored Links
Forum Topic Moderator

GA

11-18-03, 10:17 PM   #2  
Hello Mower17!

Vacuum lines run vacuum motors, switches, sensors, servos, diaphragms, etc...

Diesel engines don't really develop vacuum. In automotive applications they use a vacuum pump to provide vacuum. Gasoline engines develop vacuum in the intake. This vacuum is tapped into to power things. There are diaphragms that move linkages when vacuum is applied. One example is the brake booster on cars with power brakes. It is a large diaphragm that vacuum pulls on to aid in brake operation. Air conditioning blend doors move by vacuum motors in many cases...to move the flap from the heater core for hot air, to the evaporator core for cold air. Manifold vacuum also tells a lot about how an engine is running, and what kind of condition it is in. Fuel injected vehicles have a computer that uses a sensor that reads engine vacuum to tell it how much of a load the engine is under. It is called a MAP sensor. (Manifold Absolute Pressure).