Brakes are fading fast

Old 12-03-03, 06:23 PM
Unhappy Brakes are fading fast

Aloha,

1988 Camaro, 5.0, Vin E Throttle Body Injection........131k mi

Brakes have gotten VERY spongy and are unreliable at times. I know I have a bad caliper in the front.......Have had it now for a couple months. I do have two new calipers that I will install over the weekend, but I'm wondering if this sounds more like a master cylinder failing. As I said, the problem is intermittant and generally occurs at slow speeds. I have a full master cylinder and there are no leaks that I can detect. Not sure if its just me, but I do hear a more pronounced "Whooosh" when I hit the brakes. If I stab quickly, it takes time for the brakes to finally do their job.

Should I replace the calipers first, then see? Or are my symptoms more pointing toward replacing another components?

Please help!!

V/R

Maitai

Sponsored Links
Old 12-03-03, 07:16 PM
First..... What do you mean you have a bad caliper? Why is it bad? You say you have no leaks and you hear a swishing sound. Sounds like power booster to me. With brakes you need to repair the obvious first.... If you know you have a bad component then replace that first and see if it corrects your problem. It is very important to repair brakes as soon as you notice a problem or sooner for that matter. Regular maintenance is important to keep components from premature failure. You dont want to be driving along and they fail.
Billy

Old 12-03-03, 07:21 PM
Billy,

Thanks for the reply and I know, it's embarrassing to not have taken care of the problem sooner........

I believe I have a stuck driver's side caliper because everytime I hit the brakes I hear a knocking sound coming from that area. My front end components are completely new and I can reproduce the sound by applying the brakes lightly or heavily....

Does this help?

Maitai

Old 12-03-03, 08:22 PM
Maitai,