1969 Galaxie 500

Old 12-12-03, 02:23 PM
speedup
Visiting Guest
1969 Galaxie 500

Hello I am new to this so bare with me. I have a 1969 Galaxie 500 390 4bbl I bought it a few weeks ago to restore it does not need a lot of work but my problem is it will not start. I have changed the carburator to stock (rebuilt) I have a new starter relay new ignition coil, plugs, points, rotor, cap. it turns over GREAT it fires until I let off the starter then dies. The fuel pump is working fine. Any Ideas ? I was told from the guy I bought it from it had not run in about a year.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-12-03, 02:52 PM
Smile Great old Classic

Hi speedup

Great catch .

The cars & trucks I work on fall between 1967 to 1972. Many have not been run in years. Some things like fuel & lubricants need changed & their containers cleaned as well.

Plastic wiring & ends need to be replaced with modern copies this includes coils, points etc.

I find what may have long since decayed & replace it all,
that would be step #1 in any good atempt to stablize our
old Cars & Trucks, for our driving safety.

There are a lot of us out here who would rather drive a
1969 C/10 Chevy truck than a 2004 Silverado .

My speciality is Chevrolet. I do tend to rubber neck them all. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder & old Cars and Trucks
are beautiful in many ways. It's a shame we lost that.

Old 12-12-03, 03:01 PM
boflaade
Visiting Guest
Also the newer types of gas have no shelf-life. If the gas in the car is over six months old then refresh it. The new types of gas also leave a residue. With a rebuilt carb you are okay there but how about the fuel pump. Maybe take it off and use a bit of carb clean. It sounds like it's starving for fuel so maybe the fuel pump is not quite 100%.

Old 12-12-03, 03:35 PM
speedup
Visiting Guest