Air Condition

Old 12-19-03, 05:38 AM
ucodit
Visiting Guest
Air Condition

Hello
I have a 1990 Dodge van and it still has the old type freon in the system, which has leaked down and no longer blowing out cold air, what all has to be changed over to use the new freon 134a?
Thanks for any Info.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-19-03, 02:44 PM
You have to remove all of the oil from the system and replace it with R134 compatable oil. Recharge the system to 80% of original capacity. Sometime you have to add an extra condensor fan and the fittings have to be changed..

I would add that I do not recommend doing this. I have a lot of background in A/C repairs and in my opinion this is a bad move. R134 is great when it is used in a system that was engineered for it. The use different compressors for the higher pressures. The condensers are larger, the evaporators are designed differently and they use barrier hose. Most of the time R12 will get much colder that R134 when used in an R12 system. you would be much better off the repair the leak and continue to use R12. Retrofits will sometimes work but for the most part create problems and shorten the life of the compressor.

Old 12-19-03, 02:55 PM
I agree with desi. You still need to find and fix the leak.R134a will leak out faster than R-12 also.

Old 12-19-03, 04:41 PM
Yes R134a will tend to leak faster but never the less. Retrofitting will be the most cost effective way to do it. I would suggest a retrofit and install UV Dye tracer, and find the leak. Pumping a pound of r-12 into the atmosphere is harmful to our environment and a big waste of money.

Old 12-19-03, 10:39 PM