Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Help I'm Limping!


mattison's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,549
OH

12-24-03, 04:40 AM   #1  
Help I'm Limping!

1993 Chrysler T&C

Last year it went into limp mode and it ended up being the tranny computer. Yesterday it went into limp mode for "at 1st" no apparant reason. I checked the fluid level and it was low so assuming this is why it was in "limp" I "limped" down to Auto Zone and got the correct fluid for my Chrysler and filled it up. Of course this didn't automatically get me out of L.Mode so I unhooked the positive cable from the battery for awhile hoping this would clear the trouble. It didn't do a thing.

My question is....Is there some other way to clear the tranny computer to see if low fluid level put it into the L.Mode? It hasn't given me any problems prior to this to lead me to believe there are any mechanical problems with the tranny.

 
Sponsored Links
mike from nj's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

12-24-03, 08:34 AM   #2  
mike from nj
turning the ignition key off and restarting it resets the computer. however the code stays stored in the TCM to help someone diagnose it.

if it starts immediately in 'limp', then you have a "hard" fault, ranging from a sensor, to a switch, to a wire (mice), to a dirty connection. you could even have an internal trans problem.

depending on which scan tool a shop has, they may or may not be able to read the fault codes. the connector is blue, under the dash, usually near the fuse box. i would say any trans specialist would be able to(if not----don't let them touch it). for a dealer, it depends on who and how you ask, if they'll pull a code and give it to the cust for free. ( i do) usually, all you'll need is a voltmeter depending on the code.

without that info, it's anybody's guess?


running it low on fluid causes it's own major problems, hopefully it wasn't too low.

 
Desi501's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,207

12-24-03, 01:04 PM   #3  
From what I have heard, they have a ton of problems with the shift solonoids. That's not too serious.

 
mattison's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,549
OH

12-27-03, 05:00 AM   #4  
Sorry for not responding but not only did the holidays hit but I had a loss in the family. Anyway I have several differant multi meters can you lead me into the process to pull the code. I've got an appointment with the Chrysler dealer for Monday if I can't get it myself. I know about turning the key on and off several times and it flashes on the instrument panel but these are just generic codes.

 
mike from nj's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

12-27-03, 08:13 PM   #5  
mike from nj
the flashing 'check engine' light isn't generic codes, they are engine codes, and are important when something related to the engine goes wrong

the trans computer has it's own set of codes, unfortunately you can't access them without a scan tool, to read them.

if you had them, you could do some things with the voltmeter and maybe narrow the problem down



(sorry about your loss)

 
mattison's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,549
OH

12-28-03, 06:14 AM   #6  
Thanks anyway mike and like I tell people without the proper HVAC tools "It's time to call a pro"

P.S. When I said generic what you said is what I meant. They don't go into the tranny codes. Thanks again.

 
mattison's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 5,549
OH

12-29-03, 07:32 AM   #7  
Stupid relay that turns on the reverse lights. Apparantly if there is no juice going to them it hops into limp. Why do they cause it to go into limp over a stupid reverse relay. I HATE NEWER VEHICLES. I'm going to buy a 70's chevy van, customize it and be done with it.

 
mike from nj's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

12-29-03, 05:09 PM   #8  
mike from nj
that's a new one

i'll have to remember that.

the voltage feed for the reverse relay is also the feed for the trans relay(which controls everything) i wonder if the feed was lost and not the relay itself, or the relay took out the feed?

as long as it's fixed, that's good

 
Search this Thread