86 k5blazer timing?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-04, 06:55 AM
johng chevy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
86 k5blazer timing?

I have 86 k5 blazer with a 350 carburated engine.I had to change the pickupcoil on the distributor so i put it back were i thought it was but wasn't.So i was wondering how to get it running so i can put a light on it? ps:I tried putting in different positions and turning it but all i get is pops out the carburater!!! thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-04, 08:05 AM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
Remove the number 1 spark plug. Stick your finger in the spark plug hole and have someone bump the engine over until you feel pressure and hear air escaping around your finger. Stop here. Rotate the crankshaft by hand until the mark on the harmonic balancer lines up with "0" on the timing tab. Locate the number 1 plug wire on the distributor cap. Point the rotor toward number 1. This will get you where you can get it started. If it still backfires and will not start, start over and this time the number 1 wire tower on the cap will be 180 degrees from where you put it the first time.
Hope this is helpful to ya,
Billy
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-04, 08:26 AM
johng chevy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
thanks i one question,If it dosn't work the 1st time will i have to pull the distributor and turn it all the way around to the other side?
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-04, 08:29 AM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
You could do that or walk the wires around so that the number 1 matches the new location. Most likely you will get it the first time. The rotor should point towards the front of the engine, so if it does then you know you should be good. Out of hundreds of these I have only chosen the wrong stroke less than a handful of times.
Billy
 
  #5  
Old 01-18-04, 08:33 AM
johng chevy
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks a lot i'll try that!!!
 
  #6  
Old 01-18-04, 02:08 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
Please, if your 180 out, don't just move the wires to match, move the distributor. You could cause some tech out there a real nightmare if he ever has to put those wires back not knowing that was done. I blew a valve cover right off one time after changing a set of wires and installing them where they shoud be without knowing the dist was 180 out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes