Toyota Tundra Running rough

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-01-04, 06:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 27
Toyota Tundra Running rough

Hey guys
Have a 2000 Toyota Tundra 8cyl auto w/ 64K. Just last week it started running rough. Smooth at idle, but after 20 min of city driving started running rough, almost as if it was missing. Went to dealer, asked about " no tune-up for 100K". He stated true, but, at 60K it will require an adjustment. To the tune of $450. When I asked him what kind of adjustment He talked me into a circle. I didnt want to appear rude so I thought I would ask you guys first. I was going to go to another dealer but it was late in the day. Is there some kind of 60 K adjustment ??????
Thanx
Bill from Ohio
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-01-04, 07:59 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
When exactly does it run rough, after 20 mins of driving then at idle?

Does it idle lower than it use to? The throttle plate and housing is possibly dirty. It has no ISC motor, it uses drive by wire technologly. Uses a motor to control throttle plate.

Is the Check engine lite on? As far as maintenance do what the maintenance book by the manufacturer states.
 
  #3  
Old 02-02-04, 05:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 27
The truck does just the opposite. It idles fine. It starts to miss a little when accelerating and at 30-35 mph. I have been almost anal about scheduled maintenance. Primarily my question was regarding this $500 adjustment, and if there is such an animal.Thanx
Bill
 
  #4  
Old 02-02-04, 06:31 AM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
I would think ignition wires would be a likely candidate at that mileage but I can't understand what kind of dance that dealer is doing.
 
  #5  
Old 02-02-04, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 27
Thank you. I will replace wires . I was very concerned about the dealers motives also.
Bill
 
  #6  
Old 02-02-04, 01:36 PM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
You really cannot change the wires because there isn't any. It has coil packs for each cly.

I think your problem is your lack of not changing the plugs, they are due every 15k, so you are four times overdue!

The 2003 has iriduim tip 100k plugs, not yours
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes