Replacing Shocks

Old 03-18-04, 11:12 PM
Replacing Shocks

My 2000 Ranger XL hits holes and road buckles really hard and even goes a little sideways at certain speeds.It has almost 50k on it.It has shocks on the back and struts on front.I'm suspecting the shocks are shot since it does bounce 2 or 3 times after I release it in the 'Hand bounce test" Is this a DIY or take it to a professional. I've never tried a repair like this before.I'm not sure about the struts do you replace the shock in them or have to replace the whole thing and what tools would you need?

Sponsored Links
Old 03-19-04, 04:35 AM
Shocks are fairly easy to change using common hand tools.I think you are going to find you have 4 shocks on your truck,if you have front struts, I'll have to look under one of those again someday.

Old 03-19-04, 10:45 AM
It might be 4 shocks.It don't say anything about suspension in my owners manuel.I don't know much about it and when I look at the front it is a shock inside a coil spring so I assumed thats what it was.

Old 03-19-04, 03:19 PM
Originally posted by romod
when I look at the front it is a shock inside a coil spring so I assumed thats what it was.
Are you sure about that? I'm with davo on this one. I've never seen a Ranger with struts either. If it's 2WD, it should have twin "I' beam front axles.

Old 03-19-04, 11:49 PM
Yep I just went out and looked at it and it definetly has a "shock" incased in the coil spring on the front.The bottom of the assembly looks like a "wishbone" style, but I don't know much about it suspensions only the basics so its anyones guess.

Old 03-20-04, 03:50 AM