windshield washer pump problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-26-04, 09:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 478
windshield washer pump problem

I replaced the pump for the rear windshield washer on my daughter's 96 chevy blazer because the old one was leaking. I do not know if it was working or not.

The new pump when installed will not work. My test light will light when you press the washer switch. I touched the test light probes to the 2 connectors on the plug from the wiring harness. I did not check the voltage but it seems as bright as when I connect it to the battery. I connected the new pump to the battery and it runs.

I thought I had a loose connection, broken wire etc. so I connected a pair of test wires from the plug to the terminals on the pump. At the same time I connected the test light to the same test wires, The test light will light but the pump does not run. I have eliminated the possibility of a bad connection, wire, etc.

It sounded like there was a faint clicking noise when the button was pressed to activate the pump (and the test light comes on). It sounded like a relay clicking.

Any ideas please I am
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-27-04, 04:29 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 247
Well i'm not real familiar with the wires on a blazer but if the test light lights up then you should have sufficient power but do you have a good ground??.Usually a solid black wire will be the ground wire.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-04, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 478
It has me stumped. The connector is a 2 wire connector. 1 ground and 1 hot activated by the switch. I am certain I had good connections when I had the test wires connected with the test light in parallel and the test light will light. but the motor will not even try to run.
 
  #4  
Old 03-27-04, 06:16 PM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
Did you ut one end of your test light on the ground wire and one on the power wire? It sounds to me like you have a bad ground. Check the wires with a DVOM and see if you have 12 volts with the button pressed.
Hope this is helpful to ya,
Billy
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.