98 volks cabrio timing belt replace

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-22-04, 01:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 40
98 volks cabrio timing belt replace

I need to replace timing belt but do not know if this is possible by a diy'er. If so, is there a down loadable guide out there? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-22-04, 03:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 478
Try autozone.com they have timing belt installation information for some vehicles. Also libraries often subscribe to sites such as all data or mitchels on demand.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-04, 04:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 248
Matt,

If you can wait 'til tomorrow evening, I should be able to get it for you.

You can read the tech data and decide for yourself, but unless you feel pretty confident I'd let a professional do it.


Matt
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-04, 04:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 40
Thanks for the advice. Matt, I feel pretty confident doing it myself I have changed one on a Dodge Colt a few years ago. I probably would be able to do it without any instructions but with a newer car I would like to read up on it first before I start wrenching. If you could send some info it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again for the help.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-04, 04:43 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 248
Didn't get a chance to get near any tech data today.

If you've already done a belt before, you should be OK on this. Is it a single or dual overhead cam? If dual, you've got to be careful about keeping BOTH cam sprockets lined up correctly. Other than that, it's JUST a timing belt.

Matt
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-04, 09:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 40
Thank for the help. If you do have a chance to get any tech illustrations on this project I would really appreciate it.
 
  #8  
Old 04-28-04, 01:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 40
Thanks for all the help smogtek but I can not gain access to the info you sent. Any suggestions.
 
  #9  
Old 04-28-04, 05:55 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 248
Matt,

I'm not sure why the links don't work for you. When I click on them, I go right to them.

If you PM me your address back channel, I'll mail you the hard copies.

Matt
 
  #10  
Old 04-30-04, 03:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 40
Smogtek,

I want to thank you for all the help. I tried to access those pics you hooked me up with and it worked this time. Thanks again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes