88 Cherokee engine misfire

Old 05-11-04, 06:38 AM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest
88 Cherokee engine sputter/hesitation

I am a novice so bare with me. My 88 Jeep recently began to inconsistently hesitate and sputter. I figured it was in need of a tune up so I did so...and this am it did it again. it will simply have a moment where the engine still runs but barely and sputters. it will last a few minutes and then resolve itself.

I still need to replace my gas filter but am wondering what other sources I need to check. It does not have this problem consistently....it runs like a dream 99% of the time. It just seems that every couple of days it has these moments of struggle.

Last edited by PJMorgan; 05-18-04 at 12:02 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-04, 01:54 PM
I think your on the right track with changing the fuel filter. You may have a fuel pump getting ready to crap out too. Watching you fuel pressure when it happens is the only way to know what's going on.

Old 05-12-04, 05:57 AM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest
I changed the fuel filer last night and the fuel in it was just sludge. But then this am......it had the same problem. Oddly enough it seems to be at the same point in my drive...about 20 min in. it is hard to tell if the engine is not getting enough fule or enough air. How can I tell the difference? While it is in the midst of these attacks...it will idle fin but when I hit the gas it begins to sputter and choke out.

I am now thinking that there is a problem with the air/fuel mixture. But it is fuel injected so I am not sure how to verify the source.

I am starting to see some level of a pattern. it seems to have this attack about 15 minutes into my drive into work and 15 min into my drive home but it does not do it every day. Stop and Go traffic seems to increase the likelihood that it will happen.

Last edited by PJMorgan; 05-12-04 at 11:57 AM.
Old 05-18-04, 11:01 AM
PJMorgan
Visiting Guest
The latest: