Struts going bad

Old 05-13-04, 04:07 PM
Struts going bad

I have a 1995 ford windstar van. It has had the same passenger side strut replaced twice - once at 50K and recently at 100K. The replacement also requires an alignment so it gets expensive. So .... what makes the same strut go bad. It looks like a sturdy metal part. I believe I read somewhere that the windstar was prone to this. I am a reasonably careful driver and I am seeking a explanation for this reoccurence. The work was done at a Pep Boys garage and I have no reason to question their integrity.

Sponsored Links
Old 05-13-04, 04:16 PM
What is actually happening to them? Are they leaking? It is unusual but I believe PepBoys carries Gabriel products which are guaranteed for life. It's not uncommon for the right side to have more problems because it is the gutter side and see more abuse. they should be lasting longer than that though.

Old 05-13-04, 04:23 PM
sorry Desi. I should have said "tie rod" not strut. I know the difference .. just misspoke

Old 05-13-04, 05:07 PM
Bugalou
Visiting Guest
The passenger side suspension usually takes more of a beating then the driver side, the pot holes and road damage are usually on the right side of a road...cheap parts could compound the problem..How did you know it was bad??..was the front vibrating?

Bug

Old 05-13-04, 05:31 PM
Originally Posted by vetisme
sorry Desi. I should have said "tie rod" not strut. I know the difference .. just misspoke
OK, that's different. An "out of balance" tire or bent wheel will accelerate tie rod wear. Obviously not greasing will also.

Old 05-14-04, 10:06 AM
They told me it needed to be repaced during an inspection. I can't say I noticed any vibration etc. I take good care of all my vehicles including greasing. I really should get in the habit of asking for the replaced parts - just to ease my mind.

Old 05-15-04, 08:38 AM
Bugalou
Visiting Guest