A/C Leak?

Old 05-14-04, 07:55 AM
youthrevolution
Visiting Guest
A/C Leak?

I have a 99 Altima GXE that I just had the A/C diagnosed and recharged at PepBoys at the end of April. It was working great...for about ten days! Now it just blows hot air! They told me that I didn't have a leak...so...should I go back there? Is there any guarantee/warranty on the work they do?

And what do you think of chains like Firestone and PepBoys? Thanks!

Old 05-14-04, 08:06 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What exactly did they "diagnose"? Other things besides a leak can make the a/c stop working (bad clutch, for example).

You might check your receipt for warranty coverage. If there is any it should be stated on there somewhere.

I have no experience with Firestone, but I personally wouldn't let Pep Boys change the air in my tires.

Old 05-14-04, 08:07 AM
If there was no freon leak, why was it necessary for the system to be recharged? Refrigerant does not just vanish in a sealed system.

Old 05-14-04, 08:14 AM
youthrevolution
Visiting Guest
First, they diagnosed the A/C system and checked for leaks etc. before doing any work. Then, they added more freon since it was low. I had it checked out first at Firestone and they told me there wasn't a leak either and that they just needed to add more freon etc. I went to PepBoys for a second opinion and they said the same thing...no leaks, just need to add more freon.

Old 05-14-04, 01:54 PM
Bugalou
Visiting Guest
I would tell you how to check your system pressure, buy the 134a refridgerant for 5 bucks a can and install it yourself, also how to find leaks yourself and repair them but first I have to ask if this is the route you want to go...If not then I would try to find a dedicated AC repair shop, I don't like Pep Boys or Firestone at all...

Bug

Old 05-14-04, 02:33 PM
Originally Posted by youthrevolution