Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

remote locking


biglouiek's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
KY

05-23-04, 06:04 PM   #1  
remote locking

My father-in-law had the remote locking mechanism disconnected from his 1994 Camry. I think they just pulled some wires apart or something. I can't find anything in the manual. We still have the keychain device. If I want to re-connect the remote locking, how do I do that? Thanks!

 
Sponsored Links
billys68ss's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,459
WV

05-24-04, 03:45 AM   #2  
THe Power door lock module is behind the dash on the right side of the glove compartment. I dont understand why this was done, but most likely that is where it was disconnected. The module is a small rectangle box, comparable to the size of a cigarette pack.
Hope this helps ya,
Billy

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

05-24-04, 04:00 AM   #3  
First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)

 
biglouiek's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
KY

05-26-04, 05:20 AM   #4  
Posted By: biglouiek My father-in-law had the remote locking mechanism disconnected from his 1994 Camry. I think they just pulled some wires apart or something. I can't find anything in the manual. We still have the keychain device. If I want to re-connect the remote locking, how do I do that? Thanks!
How do I access it?

 
billys68ss's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,459
WV

05-27-04, 03:38 AM   #5  
I believe you need to remove the kick panel on the passenger side to access it. It may be higher than the panel, but the panel still needs to come out.
Hope this is helpful to ya,
Billy

 
Desi501's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,207

05-27-04, 03:43 AM   #6  
Posted By: toyotaman11769 First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)
He's right, sounds like it may be aftermarket and was probably disconnected for a good reason.

 
biglouiek's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
KY

05-27-04, 05:59 AM   #7  
remote locking

The remote says Toyota so I think it was installed in the factory. It was disconnected because that is the way my father-in-law is. It was working properly. I think the remote was too big for his wallet key chain.

So I have to remove a panel from under the dash and work up under the glove box from inside the car? Then just find the box and "plug it back in"?

 
biglouiek's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
KY

05-27-04, 06:00 AM   #8  
The remote says Toyota

Posted By: toyotaman11769 First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)

The remote says Toyota so I think it came from the factory. Thanks for the help, man.

 
billys68ss's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,459
WV

05-27-04, 07:03 PM   #9  
IF you open the passenger door and look at the floor on the right side should be a plastic piece that covers the side along the same line as the door. It runs from the carpet up and behind the glove compartment. Remove that panel and you may or may not be able to see the module. It will probably be a little higher than the bottom of the dash. It should be comparable to the size of a cigarette pack. You may want to have the remotes checked. If the module has been disconnected you may have lost the memory for the remotes.
Good Luck,
Billy

 
Search this Thread