remote locking

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-23-04, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
remote locking

My father-in-law had the remote locking mechanism disconnected from his 1994 Camry. I think they just pulled some wires apart or something. I can't find anything in the manual. We still have the keychain device. If I want to re-connect the remote locking, how do I do that? Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-04, 03:45 AM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
THe Power door lock module is behind the dash on the right side of the glove compartment. I dont understand why this was done, but most likely that is where it was disconnected. The module is a small rectangle box, comparable to the size of a cigarette pack.
Hope this helps ya,
Billy
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-04, 04:00 AM
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,531
First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)
 
  #4  
Old 05-26-04, 05:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
Originally Posted by biglouiek
My father-in-law had the remote locking mechanism disconnected from his 1994 Camry. I think they just pulled some wires apart or something. I can't find anything in the manual. We still have the keychain device. If I want to re-connect the remote locking, how do I do that? Thanks!
How do I access it?
 
  #5  
Old 05-27-04, 03:38 AM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
I believe you need to remove the kick panel on the passenger side to access it. It may be higher than the panel, but the panel still needs to come out.
Hope this is helpful to ya,
Billy
 
  #6  
Old 05-27-04, 03:43 AM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
Originally Posted by toyotaman11769
First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)
He's right, sounds like it may be aftermarket and was probably disconnected for a good reason.
 
  #7  
Old 05-27-04, 05:59 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
remote locking

The remote says Toyota so I think it was installed in the factory. It was disconnected because that is the way my father-in-law is. It was working properly. I think the remote was too big for his wallet key chain.

So I have to remove a panel from under the dash and work up under the glove box from inside the car? Then just find the box and "plug it back in"?
 
  #8  
Old 05-27-04, 06:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 31
The remote says Toyota

Originally Posted by toyotaman11769
First we need to determine if it's a factory system or aftermarket.

What does the remote say on it? (Toyota, Viper, DEI, etc)

The remote says Toyota so I think it came from the factory. Thanks for the help, man.
 
  #9  
Old 05-27-04, 07:03 PM
billys68ss's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,459
IF you open the passenger door and look at the floor on the right side should be a plastic piece that covers the side along the same line as the door. It runs from the carpet up and behind the glove compartment. Remove that panel and you may or may not be able to see the module. It will probably be a little higher than the bottom of the dash. It should be comparable to the size of a cigarette pack. You may want to have the remotes checked. If the module has been disconnected you may have lost the memory for the remotes.
Good Luck,
Billy
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes