Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

A/C charging on chevy truck

Visiting Guest

06-02-04, 03:04 PM   #1  
MASTER Brian
A/C charging on chevy truck

I have a 92 Chevy C1500 with a 350. This past weekend the A/C went out, started squeeling badly. It's only $10 more for the complete compressor, so that's the route we are going vs. just changing out the compressor clutch.

The system has been converted to 134a already as well. I am not a mechanic, but am mechanically inclinded. I am going to going to change the compressor and have a friend who is an A/C repairman for the school district evacuate the system and do all that needs done on that end as well as recharge everything for me.

My question is, how many pounds of freon will that system hold and also how much oil needs to be installed?

While we are at it and if you know, I also have a suburban of the same year that has the rear air out and I plan on fixing that sometime after I get this other truck going. How much freon and oil will that system take?

Thanks,
Brian

Sponsored Links

06-02-04, 03:39 PM   #2