Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

86 Prelude Not Starting

Visiting Guest

06-26-04, 11:16 PM   #1  
WaltSnider
86 Prelude Not Starting

I looked for a search function, but finding none, I'm posting this now... I apologize if I overlooked one.

1986 Honday Prelude, 1.8 L engine, 5 speed manual, DX (or regular) coupe 2 door.
Not Starting, or if it does, runs for 90 secs - 5 mins and dies. (More detail below.)

Inital problem:
Had 2, replaced bearings in left front knuckle (or lower control arm), doubt it has anything to do with the starting/running problem, but I'm a computer tech by training and have seen strange things not supposed to be related in the past, so I thought it may be worth mentioning.

Other problem:
About 2-3 months ago, driving about 80 on the interstate hwy, the RPM's (tachometer?) dropped to 0 (on the meter, engine was still reving and responded to accelerator being pressed) and after about 3-4 seconds, went back to normal. My spedometer doesn't work, so I guage my speed by the gear I'm in and RPM's I'm at... mentioning this only because I don't know if the spedometer would have dropped too. This behavior repeated 3 more times on the way home. Spoke to neighbor's son (17 yrs old, dad is a diesel mechanic for more than 30 years I believe) and he said I was probably just pushing it too hard... I typically don't go above 70. I accepted it (Previously knew VERY little about cars) and went on about my business, being cautious to watch my speed and had no problems for a couple months.