'00 FORD Taurus 24V Misifre Question

Old 06-28-04, 07:43 PM
VolvoTech
Visiting Guest
'00 FORD Taurus 24V Misifre Question

Looking for anyone may have advice on the following problem;

2000 Taurus with 24V engine; when the vehicle gets hots and sits at idle it devlops a misfire for only 2 or 3 minutes. The diagnotisic trouble codes that it sets are for cylinder #4 misfire, EGR flow insufficent. The codes will usually clear them selves out and the misfire only happens when hot and at idle and usually only lasts a minute to two. I have installed Motorcraft OEM plugs, coil pack #4, and all three rear fuel injectors. After installing the injectors I also got a DTC for the Fuel Rail Pressure Sensor. I don't know if that is of my own doing or what.

I am an ASE/Volvo tech. and I at my wits end trying to diagnosis this one with generic non ford specific test equip. I would love to hear from any Taurus owners, technicians (Ford or aftermarket) All attempts have failed to remidy the problem. I only posted here on DIY because I saw that one of replies was from a Ford Master Tech. and I am hoping that someone similar might help me thanks!

Confuzzed Tech in VA
VolvoTech.

Sponsored Links
Old 06-28-04, 07:45 PM
VolvoTech
Visiting Guest
P.S. Ford Taurus Misfire

I also installed a new EGR valve too. I wasn;t able to find any applicable bullitiens on the net about my complaint. Thanks
VolvoTech.

Old 06-29-04, 03:12 AM
should check your number 4 plugwire unless it is coil on plug for holes burnt through the side of the boot and for carbon tracking inside the boot.

innsuffiecient egr flow is usually caused by restricted passage ways in the intake you can usually see the passages clogged with carbon by holding the throttle open as they are located right behind the throttle plate.

Old 07-01-04, 02:42 PM
VolvoTech
Visiting Guest
Already tried...