Rewiring power windows

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-04, 10:05 AM
lee.wallace
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Rewiring power windows

I wanted to re-wire my power windows so I could operate them with the ignition key off. I cut into the window hot wire in the door arm rest and ran the new wire back through the door and under the dash. I ran a wire from other the hood, connected to the AUX post beside the under hood fuse boxes. I put in an in-line fuse holder and used a 10 amp fuse (the old style glass ones) The wire I used was 16 ga. After I hooked it up and tried it, everything was fine, but the next day when I tried to use it while the car was running I blew the fuse. I replaced it several times with the same results. I also tried connecting the line to the hot wire of the cigarette lighter, but had the same results. Should I have used a stonger fuse, heaver wire or could there be something wrong with the way I wired it?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-04, 10:50 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,288
My '88 Buick manual calls for a 30 amp circuit breaker. You could trace the wiring back to your O.E.M. fuse / circuit breaker and change the wiring from ignition switch control to always on. If you make this modification, I hope you don't have small children who may get caught in it. The car was manufactured this way for a good reason.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-04, 12:07 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
Why on earth would you want to do a foolish thing like that? You'd have to find the original power supply source and reroute that source to another 30A circuit. Not something I'd recommend doing though.
 
  #4  
Old 07-06-04, 10:20 PM
preskitaz
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
My advice to you would be to get a pulse timer enabling the new power window source stays on for a given amount of time after the key is turned off. similar to features found on newer vehicles. or get a remote power window kit for an aftermarket keyless entry. Be warned a pulse timer module can be very complicated to install & I suggest you have a professional install it. It can be obtained from most car alarm shops that do more High end installs. I personally would not wire it on all the time it can be a safety issue.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes