Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

First Car

Visiting Guest

07-08-04, 05:58 AM   #1  
WannaBAMechanic
First Car

Hello everyone. This is my first time here! (Yay, glad I found it!) Um, I have a question. For anyone who wouldn't mind answering it.

I am getting a new car... But as of right now it doesn't exactly run. (I know, then why are you getting it?) Well my friends Step Mother is selling it and I told her that I wanted it. Now this is where my question comes in.

All that is wrong with the car is she says the Fuel Pump needs to bled. Now my mother talked to my aunt who says that can't be done. But my brother-in-law says that he can do it. I would really like to find a way to do it myself.
(Hence why I'm at Do-It-Yourself) I want to know if anyone here knows how to do it and can explain it to me... Or if anyone knows weather or not it really can or can not be done. Or if someone can give me a website where they give you step by step instructions.

I should explain, I'm 17 years old. I want to be a mechanic but I still have 1 year of High School left. This is my first car. I just want it to run so that I can bring it home and drive it!!! If anyone can help me thank you soooo much.
Kathy

Sponsored Links

07-08-04, 02:06 PM   #2  
Fuel pumps do not need to be bled unless it's a diesel engine.Please let us know what kind of car,engine trans etc.Diagnostics can vary from car to car.

Visiting Guest

07-09-04, 06:15 AM   #3  
WannaBAMechanic
Hmmm

Well, as far as I know it's not diesel. And I'm not sure what kind of engine it is or anything. As I mentioned. This will be my first car. If I can find out what is really wrong with it!

I think the car is a Volkswagon Rabbit. I couldn't exactly tell you the year. But it's small and it's 4 door. I hope this helps.

Thanks

Group Moderator

FL

07-10-04, 07:08 AM   #4