Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Oil Pressure and Temp Gauge


's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

11-19-01, 02:20 PM   #1  
why will this not post???????

Ok, I took one of my cars(87 shelby charger) to a shop with a broken cv axle.Two weeks later I got a call from the shop, they said they put the axle in, took it for a test drive, and that the tranny just "broke".Well I was pissed for a long time and called the better business beureau on him, that didnt help any....oh well.So I was thinking about scrapping the car.My question is do you think it would be worth the time and money to put a new tranny in one of these things?Is it a difficult removal/install?I am a student at ranken tech in Saint Louis so I have access to specialized tools and advice,.....I'm just questioning myself if its gonna be worth it.

 
Sponsored Links
thecroc's Avatar
Visiting Guest

Posts: n/a

07-24-04, 11:51 AM   #2  
thecroc
Oil Pressure and Temp Gauge

I recently had another engine installed in a 1990 Mitsubishi Eclipse. The car seems to run great, but he did'nt connect the oil pressure or the temp gauges. I had a terrible experience with the mechanic and won't take it back to him. I took it to another mechanic and he said there were a lot of cut wires all over the place and he couldn't figure them out. I have already spent more than I wanted to. Will these gauges not being hooked up cause any damage other than not being able to know the temp or oil pressure. Can anyone give me some advice as what to do. Someone told me that this would cause the fan not to come on to cool.


Last edited by thecroc; 07-25-04 at 08:54 PM.
 
davo's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,417

07-25-04, 05:49 AM   #3  
It depends on how the system is wired for the fan circuit.Some cars use 2 sensors 1 for the fan and 1 for the computer.If someone cut my wires they would be fixing them or paying someone else to do so.If the other mechanic doesn't know where they go you are at the wrong shop again.Wires are color coded and any place with wiring diagrams should be able to repair the cut wires.

 
jeff67's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 616
NC

07-25-04, 06:08 AM   #4  
they said they put the axle in, took it for a test drive, and that the tranny just "broke".
That sounds suspicious. What can a person do when something like this happens?

 
davo's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,417

07-25-04, 06:30 AM   #5  
Posted By: jeff67 That sounds suspicious. What can a person do when something like this happens?
Jeff that is an old post that got here some how.But to answer your question I had a Honda that came in with broken cv shafts because the tranny was locked up and the customer claimed he heard no noise.

 
Search this Thread