Tape Deck problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-26-04, 03:45 PM
Feloxi
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Question Tape Deck problem

Hi,

I have a 1993 Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme LS.

My problem is the tape deck. It switches between forward and reverse playing constantly. For example, I'll insert a tape and it will play for about 5 seconds, then it will reverse and play the other side for 5 seconds, then reverse again and play the other side, and it continues. The radio works fine, it's just the tape deck. I just cleaned it with Isopropyl Alcohol, it didn't help.

If anybody knows anything about fixing this, or you need more information, please help.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-26-04, 09:41 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nc
Posts: 616
I don't know what's wrong with it, but you're probably best off replacing it with it a new one or you might find the same unit at a junk yard. 1st, you could try taking it apart and see if anything is stuck in there preventing the take up reel from turning and see if a belt got off track.
You should also post your problem in the Electric: Home Entertainment forum where you can get additional advice, even though its not home entertainment.
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-04, 06:23 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 170
I've seen several decks do this- they just get old and the motors weaken and have trouble turning the tape, and therefore they "think" it's the end of the tape and they flip over. If this is the original tape deck in the car, or even if it's about as old as the original, you're better off just replacing it.
 
  #4  
Old 07-27-04, 03:31 PM
Feloxi
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
Well hey thanks, i fiddled with it, there's nothing wrong with it, i guess it's just old. A new question, if anybody checks this,

the new tape decks on the market with CD players, are they compatible with my car? Or do i have to get an old one in order for anythign to work.
 
  #5  
Old 07-27-04, 04:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
Newer ones that are aftermarket will work but you will need to wire it in the existing wires won't just plug in.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes