ac on pontiac grand am 98

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-05-04, 10:44 AM
deb789
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
ac on pontiac grand am 98

I have98 Pontiacgrand am. My ac was working fine a couple of days ago,but recently i turnrd it on and its blowing hot air.Inoticed it slowly not giving out cold air a couple of days ago,Until it blew hot air. Ihope it just needs freon.How would i know if its a leak or the compresser? Please explain!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-05-04, 02:20 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
Originally Posted by deb789
Ihope it just needs freon.How would i know if its a leak
Because it needs freon........

Now you would have to find the leak. Maybe take it to a shop and have it leak tested......
 
  #3  
Old 08-06-04, 12:40 PM
deb789
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
AC on pontiac grandam 98

You were right about the leak. They found a leak. Now the part they said the hoses would cost about with labor 258.00 very expensive to fix. The mechanic said there is another possible solution to remove that hose that has a leak on it and put another hose something about splicing it. And would charge me 90.00 for it. I just want to know if splicing it would help on the long run cause im kinda low on funds. How long would it last if i pay the 90.00. Please explain!!
 
  #4  
Old 08-06-04, 03:04 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
I wouldn't expect that $90 to cover the evacuation and recharge of the system or the refrigerant. When it comes to A/C, anything under $500 is getting away cheap these days. I've got my doubts about the splicing stuff. If he's not going to gaurantee the work, then I wouldn't do it. Also make sure he was very thorough with his leak test. The biggest problem with A/C repairs are the leaks they didn't find. If he missed a leaky evaporator, you'll have an $800 bill waiting for you a month or two down the line. Hoses do leak but it's rarely the only leak.
 
  #5  
Old 08-07-04, 04:18 AM
the lam
Visiting Guest
Posts: n/a
same problem

Had same problem - hot air, needed freon --went 2 very honest shop, when He cked 4 the leak it let me watch, it came from the bottom --He cked the bolt and stated maybe this is why you have a leak....ask the man to ck the bolt on the compressor....hope this is all it is,,,cost me $59.87!
 
  #6  
Old 08-07-04, 12:18 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
You might be referring to the drain plug on a variable compressor, if he even has that type, but I've never seen one leak and I don't know of any other bolt that would stop a leak.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes