Window went down, made a noise, and wouldn't go back up.

Old 08-10-04, 01:59 PM
cachuela
Visiting Guest
Exclamation Window went down, made a noise, and wouldn't go back up.

Hi Everybody,

I am by no means an auto expert, and not even a hobbyist. I'm an everyday guy who is looking to make sure my girlfriend is not going to be robbed by an auto-mechanic.

I have heard that Pontiacs have problems with their window motors and regulators. However, to fix those costs hundreds of dollars. In my girlfriends car(1997 Pontiac Grand Prix w/power windows), the driver side window is the problem. Apparently, she rolled the window down and heard a sound equivalent to a pebble falling in the inside of the door. The window stuck in the down position and her dad put it back up into place by removing the interior panel. Now, she needs to take it to a mechanic.

I am just trying to figure out if the sheer fact that the window rolls down by using the switch eliminates the possibility of the motor/regulator being the problem (since it rolls down, doesnt that mean the motor works??) Her father thinks something may be blocking the motor, or the window isnt correctly in frame. I dont trust the dealership since repairing the motor would bring them a lot of money, as opposed to something blocking the motor, I want to know so that they cant try to get me to pay for something that isnt broken. Also, if the motor is broken, does that mean you need a new regulator as well, and vice versa. We just had the switch panel replaced in feb, so i dont think that's it. Plus, when it first happened, the window was moving slightly when i pressed the switch up, and it sounded like something had fallen into the window. So maybe something (screw, rock) fell into the motor.