new battery installed backwards...car won't start!

Old 08-27-04, 07:47 PM
whlin76
Visiting Guest
new battery installed backwards...car won't start!

My little brother has a 1990 Honda Civic DX HB with 5sp. He recently "tried" to install a new battery. But he wasn't paying attention and put the cables on backwards(+ with - and - with +). He told me there was a spark and that's when he realized he did something wrong.

One of the fuse under the dash was blown so we replaced it. All other fuses including the ones under the hood are okay. When we try to start the car, the engine turns but it won't start. All other electrical stuff like heater, lights, instrument panel, etc. seem to work but the engine just won't start. He took it to a local shop(who charged my naive brother over $100 for diagnosis) concluded that the ECU, Distributor and the Ignition Switch need to be replaced. I'm no mechanic but the fact that when we turn the key, the engines turns would indicate that the Ignition Switch is working. And I don't know why it would damaged the distributor in the first place. The damaged to ECU seems reasonable then again when I called the local Honda Dealer and spoke with one of their Techs, I got mixed opinions. One tech told me that there's no way any of the above mention components would be damaged from installing the cables backwards. It would have simply blown the fuses that are designed for such purpose. The other said it is possible that it might have damaged all of these under extreme case but wouldn't know for sure until they had the chance to take it apart($$$$).

At this point, I'm just trying to determine if it is worth repairing it. I realized that this was a rather dumb mistake but I've also heard it happens more often than not where people jump start their car backwards. With this in mind, I would think the engineers should have designed their cars little better to protect it.

I would greatly appreciate any insights or advises.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links