Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

98 Chevy Blazer Expert Help Needed

Visiting Guest

09-01-04, 11:14 AM   #1  
nomarbicicleta
98 Chevy Blazer Expert Help Needed

Hello...this is my first time posting here, but could use some help on saving money and fixing my "new to me" car before it busts.

Specs:
98 Chevy Blazer 2 Wheel Drive
97,000 miles
Auto Transmission
6 Cylinder Eng.
Poor College Student

I don't know what else you guys need. Anyway here's what's going on with my machine right now. When I recieved the car from my parents the windshield wipers were sporatic. When I'd spray to clean off the windshield they wouldn't stop going for the next minute. It turned into them not turning on every so often. Then my odometer (which is digital) started cutting in and out. I thought they might be related due to an electrical short so I took it into a Pep Boys shop to have them do a diagnosis on it to see what the issue was. The 2 hour diagnosis turned into an all day affair in which they told me they wanted to replace the wiper engine.

Apparently a new engine for the windshield wipers would fix the odometer cutting in and out. 200 bucks for the engine and 75 bucks for the installation. That's on top of the 75 bucks they had me pay just for the diagnosis. Now, it didn't make sense that the motor was causing this. The wipers still functioned, but just not electrically so. So I paid for the diagnosis (also replaced my tires there...and the *******s gave me WHITE WALLS and wouldn't exchange them!!!!) and went home to look at the wiper engine. I found it easily and it looked normal. I then unhooked it to see if the engine had an effect on the odometer sketchin in and out.