Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

69 351w motor drops oil pressure and gets hot!!! help

Visiting Guest

09-27-04, 04:13 PM   #1  
Montys69mach1
69 351w motor drops oil pressure and gets hot!!! help

I just purchased a 69 mach 1 with the original 351w. I let the car warm up a little before driving it. Soon after when the car reaches normal driving temp, if I continue to drive the oil pressure gauge drops all the way down and the temp guage starts climbing. When I shut it down it leaks antifreeze. If there are any ford or motor people that may know what is causing this problem or why this happens I would appreciate hearing from you. Thank you

Sponsored Links

09-27-04, 07:10 PM   #2  
I'm no engine expert, but perhaps the head gasket is leaking. A bad water pump should not affect the oil pressure, and the chance that both the water pump and the oil pump going bad at the same time is very low. Is the oil clean? Is there oil in the water?

VA

09-28-04, 04:48 AM   #3  
whoa nelly...

...before you jump into head gaskets.

first...put a mechanical oil pressure guage on it and verify that the electrical guage is working properly...they've been known to lie. if it's not low with a guage on it...you have an electrical problem...ie a sending unit or a dash voltage regulator or even a bad guage. if it does truly have low oil pressure, then you may have oil pump wear, pressure regulator valve sticking or excessive bearing clearance somewhere.