Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

To Mr. Davo


ccmarnaj's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 139
CAL

10-27-04, 02:06 PM   #1  
To Mr. Davo

Mr. Davo, I went to autozone and they don't do it, they rented me the scanner, Can you tellme what to do?, Do I have to take some precautions when doing it?, and can you tell me what's the safest way to do it?.
Thanks.

The scanners is the OBD II ( cp9135 )

 
Sponsored Links
Desi501's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,207

10-27-04, 02:32 PM   #2  
Posted By: ccmarnaj Mr. Davo, I went to autozone and they don't do it, they rented me the scanner
That's a new one. They always did it before. It's a company policy as far as I know.
You just plug it into the ALDL connector under the dash near the column and follow the instructions with the scanner to access codes.. The all work differently.

 
ccmarnaj's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 139
CAL

10-27-04, 05:17 PM   #3  
Mr. Davo

I scanned the car and the codes are P0122 and P0301.

Thanks, I'll wait for your answer.

 
Desi501's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,207

10-27-04, 06:42 PM   #4  
That indicates a problem with the Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) or it's related wiring and a misfire on cylinder # 1. If you are due for ignition wires and plugs, then change them now. If not, someone will have to pinpoint the reason for the misfire.

 
scarrington's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64

10-27-04, 07:02 PM   #5  
As a former employee, as long as your check engine light is on they will and can scan your vehicle for free.

 
Desi501's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,207

10-28-04, 03:43 PM   #6  
Posted By: scarrington As a former employee, as long as your check engine light is on they will and can scan your vehicle for free.
It doesn't have to be on to retreive a memory code.

 
Search this Thread