Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Please help to reset code on the keypad


Irina's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 126
FL

11-08-04, 06:43 PM   #1  
Please help to reset code on the keypad

Hi,
does anybody know how I can reset the code on the keypad (numbers on the door) on mercury Cougar 1990? Problem is that one of the buttons stopped working and that number is happened to be in my code. Other nine are good.
Thank you very much.

 
Sponsored Links
carguyinva's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,147
VA

11-09-04, 04:45 AM   #2  
i don't believe that's doable...

...but the keypad is replaceable.

 
Irina's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 126
FL

11-09-04, 05:07 AM   #3  
Dealer said that it can be reset...

Well, all I know that dealer said that it is, and it won't take much time. Plus, part is discontinued by ford. Even if I find it, it's very expensive. I would like to reset it. Please, help!
Thanks.
Irina

 
carguyinva's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,147
VA

11-09-04, 05:09 AM   #4  
why not....

...then ask the dealer to print you a copy of the procedure...even if you have to offer to pay for the copies...seems like a pretty economic solution to me...

 
Irina's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 126
FL

11-09-04, 05:11 AM   #5  
will they do that?

 
carguyinva's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,147
VA

11-09-04, 05:13 AM   #6  
ask...

...it doesn't cost anything...

 
toyotaman11769's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,531

11-09-04, 03:54 PM   #7  
I believe the procedure is in the owners manuel.

But I think you will need to input the factory set code to add the alternate.

I added a different code to my Mark VIII.

 
Irina's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 126
FL

11-09-04, 04:37 PM   #8  
Yeah, they told me how... I do need to input original factory code first, but it might take a while, my car doesn't take that code on the first try, hundreth maybe ...repeatedly ...
Thanks , Carguyinva and Toyotaman
Irina

 
Search this Thread