Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

HELP Finding a good and Trusty Mechanic

Visiting Guest

11-21-04, 09:02 AM   #1  
BrooklynRacer
HELP Finding a good and Trusty Mechanic

i am new to cars so i am not a do it yourselfer like you guys...
So any one have any tips on how to find a good trusty mechanic... I want my Timing Belt replaced, took it to this one shop and they did a botch job.. i am disgusted with them... Luckily my engine is not damaged but the timing still seems off by a few teeth... I need a new shop to have it done and i will pass the bill onto the original shop...
Are the Honda/Acura dealers your best bet??? do they know the cars inside and out better than the average shops out there??

Sponsored Links

11-21-04, 11:00 AM   #2  
I personally believe the best way to find a good technician in your area is by word of mouth. Talk to friends, relatives, neighbors, co-workers, etc. in your area and they should have recommendations based on their personal experience that should help you decide. In theory, the dealerships are supposed to be the best qualified technicians for the specific make they service. This isnt always the case though. Good luck on your search.

Group Moderator

FL

11-21-04, 12:29 PM   #3  
You'll often get more personal service with an independent garage than you will at one of the superstore dealerships where the only face you ever get to see in the service department is the service "writer" (who may or may not know any more about cars than YOU do). If you know any indepedent towing companies (truly independent, not owned under the table by a garage or dealership and/or affiliated with a large motor club), ask them the top three garages where they would take their OWN cars. Tow Guys tend to know where the good garages are and which ones to avoid.