'97 lumina missfire

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-16-04, 07:48 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 238
'97 lumina missfire

I recently bought a '97 lumina w/ 3.1 l v-6.
Two weeks ago I got a rough idle on start up and a flashing check engine light. Soon it smoothed out and the CEL became steady. Autozone read the code and told me it was a #3 misfire. I pulled of both ends of the wire and but it back on.
I had no problems until today. I again had the rough idle on start-up. Based on experience, I pushed on all the wires and when I restarted the car was smooth and the flashing CEL had changed to steady. This time A. Zone said it was a #4 missfire.

Any ideas on where to start?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-16-04, 09:04 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,915
Replace all spark plug wires and spark plugs perhaps?
 
  #3  
Old 12-17-04, 07:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 238
Plugs at firewall

Sure that sounds like an easy first step.

How do the pros get to the three plugs againsst the firewall? The last GM product I owned was an '84 Pontiac 6000 and it too was a job to get to those plugs. The clearance appears even smaller on this car.
 
  #4  
Old 12-17-04, 03:35 PM
Desi501's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Boynton Beach Florida
Posts: 2,207
Originally Posted by peabees
How do the pros get to the three plugs againsst the firewall? The last GM product I owned was an '84 Pontiac 6000 and it too was a job to get to those plugs. The clearance appears even smaller on this car.
That's why they pay us the "big bucks"

If it has a "dog bone" mount in the front, sometimes you can remove the bolt and roll the engine forward to get more access. They make a tool to hold it there. We know it's not easy but we have to deal with these problems everyday.
 
  #5  
Old 12-17-04, 04:11 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Pittsburgh,Pa
Posts: 2,417
I used to roll the engine but now on the newer 3100 I remove the coil pack you get all the room you need in under 5 minutes with hand tools.I can do it even faster with air tools.Sometimes depending on model I remove the alternator to access the plugs and wires.If you do both I'll bet you would think it's like changing the front plugs and wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes