First Oil Change

Old 12-29-04, 07:48 PM
jfico
Visiting Guest
First Oil Change

I am soon to be an owner of a 2005 BMW 530i. The maint. schedule for oil changes is determined by some on-board sensor, but generally the owners manual states aproximatly every 15,000 miles. My father-in-law who is a self taught shade-tree mechanic has said that I should change the oil at least 3 times before the first 3,000 miles, and then every 3,000 miles afterwords. I understand that this milage can be extended by using synthetic oil (which the BMW does come with). I guess my basic question is: when should I first change the oil, and then, is 15,000 realistic, or should I change it more often even if the computer doesn't say it's required.

Thanks,
John

Old 12-29-04, 08:06 PM
brewedinbc
Visiting Guest
Thumbs up

Today's engines are so well machined compared to 30 years ago. The only reason for the 3,000 mile recommendation is of the additives breaking down in regular oil. Todays synthetics last longer, way longer. 100% synthetics will probably go longer than the 15,000 BMW suggests. IMO, I'd do the initial oil change after a 1,000 miles then follow the manufacturers guidelines. You won't hurt the warranty by doing it more often. Once the warranty is up, maybe consider 7,000 miles between oil, but til then, do as Beemer says and your car will be fine. Of course if you drive it hard, go more often (5-7,000). And I'm sure someone else will have a different figure. I'm saying this from taking auto mechanics in school for 3 years before deciding to become an aircraft mechanic. Nice ride your getting, by the way.

Old 12-29-04, 08:51 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
With all due respect who do you think knows more about your new car, your well meaning father in law or the engineers that designed the car?

Old 12-30-04, 01:41 AM
Food for thought: