timing chain cover

Old 02-12-05, 06:26 PM
timing chain cover

my son went off the road a put a tree branch through the front of his 93 lincoln town car. we repaired it to the tune of $2500. he is away at college and is using large amounts of oil. bad leak appears to be coming from the timing chain cover according to him. i am going to have him bring it home so i can change it. any idea on how long it will take. i am an average backyard mechanic. thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 02-12-05, 08:34 PM
Was the timing cover taken off? If not it is not likely that the cover gasket is leaking bad. If it was taken off they could have not gotten the cornres sealed where the timing cover gasket meets the oil pan gasket.

A bad leak would probably be the crankshaft seal. You need to determine where the oil is really coming from. Wash it off at a car wash & drive home. Then get under and see where the oil is leaking.

May be a Ford guy here can tell you but on most cars like that you should be able to pull the harmonic balancer off, pry out the oil seal and put a new one in. Inspect the seal surface of the balancer. If it has a grove worn in it from the seal you will need to get another balancer or a repair kit from the auto store that has a sleeve to put over the old balancer.

If you have to take the timing cover off some come right off. These are easy to do. But some you have to take the oil pan part way or all the way off and they can be difficult to get them to seal particularly if you do not take the pan off and replace all the gaskets.

You need to say which engine you have if you want someone to help you in detail.

I looked at the auto zone website under grand marques as they did not list a lincoln. If the engines are the same and if you have a 4.6 replacing the seal looks easy. Replacing the gasket looks like a bear.

Old 02-12-05, 09:07 PM