Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

front brakes question

Visiting Guest

03-12-05, 07:13 AM   #1  
jamesgland
front brakes question

I have a question about front brakes and rotors.

Is it absolutly neccessary to have the rotors grinded down smooth?

What would happen if I just replace the brake pads when the rotors have grooves in them?

Thanks,
JIm G

Sponsored Links

03-12-05, 04:56 PM   #2  
Turning Rotors

Hi Jamesgland,

I am no mechanic, but I do know that if you simply replace your pads without turning the rotors with grooves already in them, you are doing 2 things that you really don't want to do. One...you are greatly shortening the life of the new pads. And 2...you could (possibly) actually break a rotor due to uneven heating. Maybe a moderator could add to this with more information. Very dangerous situation. Please think about it some more?

cuedude

NC

03-12-05, 07:14 PM   #3  
In addition, you will gain substantially more braking power with smooth rotors because you'll have a lot more rotor to pad contact. It would definitely be worth having a smooth rotors when you need to come to a sudden, unexpected stop.

Non-US

03-12-05, 07:53 PM   #4  
If the rotor are grooved much, than only part of the pad is doing the stoping & it will overheat. What kind of car-model do you have? Sometimes it's cheeper to replace the rotors than re-surface them. if you nickle & dime on brakes, Spend your savings on insurance!!! You'll be glad you spent the money on "premium" brakes when the kid runs into the street in front of you chasing the tennis ball. THINK about it

MI

03-13-05, 12:16 AM   #5  
brakes

just replace the rotors, you can usually get them for about $20 a piece and if that keeps you from getting in an accident, thats money well spent

03-13-05, 05:43 AM   #6