Error code P301. How to fix?

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-04-05, 05:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 358
Error code P301. How to fix?

97 Chevy Lumina 3.1L V6 94K miles
Service Engine Soon light comes on. OBDII reader says P301 (#1 cylinder misfire)

I don't feel anything different with the error code on. The engine runs as smooth (or as rough?) as it used to. Is this normal?

Here is what I did.

1) At 70k miles (about a year ago), replaced spark plugs and spark plug wires. Routine maintenance.
2) After Service Engine Soon (SES) light came on, checked error code and erased it. The code returned within a week. Now SES, and error code stays.
3) Replaced spark plug #1. Error code stays on.

Is the ignition coil the number 1 suspect? If coil is the culprit, can I swap them and see if misfire moves to another cylinder?
Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-04-05, 07:01 AM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
Did you apply dielectric grease on the new plug wires?
What brand are the wires, store brand, etc?
I see you live in Florida. Did the problem begin in the spring when humidity levels rise?
 
  #3  
Old 04-04-05, 07:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Cape Cod
Posts: 4,320
I'd suspect wires/plugs
Maybe loose,faulty or no grease like Lug says
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-05, 09:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 358
1) Yes, I did apply silicone grease on the wires when the new ones were installed. Also, when I replaced #1 spark plug last week, I added a little more to the wire.

But I have not checked the other end of the wire, I mean where it is connected to the coil. I will unplug it and put some silicone grease.

2) High humidity and Florida are synonymous especially in spring and summer.

3) Wire brand: I do not remember. They had 2 brands. The store clerk said he would use the same (less expensive) on his car. So I got the cheaper one.

Thanks for advice. I will update the progress.
 
  #5  
Old 04-04-05, 10:21 AM
Lugnut's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Kansas City, Missouri.
Posts: 1,172
If you take the old plug wire to the auto store, they will carry single wires based on length (inches) and style of boot. Match it up to one with a good boot like the factory wire had.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-05, 04:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Florida
Posts: 358
Last night I put some silicone grease on the spark plug wire and cleared the code. This morning I drove the car about 5 miles. so far no problem. Thanks for the tip.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes