78 TransAM Not run in a while

Old 04-18-05, 02:13 PM
miltons
Visiting Guest
78 TransAM Not run in a while

I am a college student, and my dad as a summer project want's to get his 78 TA running again. This car has been sitting in the garage and hasn't been run in at least 6 years. Before my dad and I started baling hay, we would run the car during the summer on weekends and it was kind of a special thing for us, but as we were getting the hay business started and running, we no longer had enough time for that. Now that we are more efficient and have some extra time during the summer, I am concerned about lubrication problems or other aspects of starthing a car that hasn't run in a while. Is there anything special that we should do before we start it up this summer. The hope is just to get it running and then we can make it pretty and get it running really smoothly. I am excited, but want to make sure that we don't ruin such a beautiful car right off the bat by not taking precautions. Somebody told me that it would be a good idea to take the spark plugs out and put drops of oil directly in the cylinders. Is this a good idea? Is there anything else that we should do first? Somebody else told me that they had a manual car that hadn't been run in a while and the transmission would not shift out of the gear that it was left in? Should this be a concern of ours?
Thanks again for your help.

Old 04-18-05, 02:45 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Hi Miltons,

Your friends suggestions are both (possibly) correct. I was going to tell you to pull the plugs, and squirt some oil in each cyl. also. One thing I would do before even trying to crank it, take a big breaker bar and try and turn the engine. Plugs out of course. I wouldn't worry initially about oil circulating through the engine until I knew whether it would turn over.