Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

(Suggestion) Buying a Scan Tool (Help Question)

04-21-05, 03:09 AM   #1  
(Suggestion) Buying a Scan Tool (Help Question)

We have a Vo-Tech or Trade school that is looking to buy a New scan tool. Last one was STOLEN! What type would you buy? I know about NGS and WDS that FORD uses but they need one that will do any make. They do want one that will read pids and etc.

Sponsored Links

04-22-05, 01:34 PM   #2  
I'm not really sure what you are looking for. My experience with the NGS is with programing keys. If this is what you are interested in, try the SDD. It is a good all-around machine, but it is expensive, and the funds may not be available. Just thought I'd offer that info.

cuedude

VA

04-22-05, 03:01 PM   #3  
I'm not an auto expert, but do you know

the years and models of the cars that the school is most interested in working on? This will probably help narrow the search. Will the school be working on Airbag systems? ABS braking systems? Transmissions? Some of the test routines and procedures for this stuff are very much auto maker dependant.

If the school already owns a laptop, I've heard about adapter cables/boxes and software that can perform a lot of the functions of a scan tool. I think it may be less expensive than a dedicated scan tool as well. This might be an option to look at....maybe a dedicated scan tool for specialized testing and the laptop for general "check engine" light work?

Just trying to give you some ideas!

04-23-05, 12:23 AM   #4  
They don't see anything for a least 3 years because of the factory warranty. So I would say 2002 year model and back. Yes, we know about laptops, and pocket pc's but don't know if they will be versatile enough. With the CAN networks and such. Just thought some of you mite give us some in-site on a good scan tool. cuedude what is SDD?

VA