Rear Rotor Stuck ??

Old 04-21-05, 03:03 PM
Mike71
Visiting Guest
Rear Rotor Stuck ??

Changing the rear rotors on the wifes 03 expedition. I have the brake caliper off and the emergency brake off. The thing won't come off. I beat it with a hammer too. The hub is only moving about 1/4" so does that mean the e-brake needs to be loosened under the truck?

Sponsored Links
Old 04-21-05, 03:20 PM
I'm not a mechanic,

but a couple of ideas: 1) look closely at the rotor near the wheel studs. Do you see any clips or hardware that hold the rotor on? Are there any screws (usually phillips)? They may be hard to see, because they'll be rust colored and blend in with the rotors.

2) Is this a combination rotor/drum setup? Probably not, given this is a 2003, but my only other idea. Does the emergency brake connect to the caliper? Maybe you need to retract the drums from the back using the adjuster. Look for a large oval rubber plug in the backside hub, at the bottom, in the middle. They make a special tool for this, but you can use a large screwdriver as well....will be really aggrevating though. I don't remember which way to turn either, so you may need to try both.

Just trying to help, I'm sure that someone with more of a clue than me will help you out.

Old 04-21-05, 03:47 PM
Mike71
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the reply. No srews or clips holding it on. I think it is rusted on. And its not a combination drum/disc setup.

I think I need to beat it harder with my hammer.

Old 04-21-05, 03:54 PM
Soak it with PB Blaster
Try a bigger hammer

If there is a trick to Expeditons specifically I'm sure some one will pipe in

Old 04-21-05, 04:01 PM
Mike71
Visiting Guest
yeah, I think my problem is my hammer isn't big enough. What is PB Blaster??? A sledge hammer should do the trick. Too late here now so I don't want to wake the neighbors up.

Old 04-21-05, 04:11 PM
PB Blaster...Liquid Wrench...
WD-40 type sprays, but with more emphasis on the "loosens rusted bolts" part