When to replace timing belt?

Old 04-29-05, 04:40 PM
When to replace timing belt?

98 Plymouth Breeze 2.0L 4 cyl OHC 60k miles
The folks at work say to replace timing belt now and save engine trouble. Shop manual says 105k miles. Which one would you go by?

By the way, replacing timing belt involves removing one engine mount, removing damper wheel, and removing the belt covers. I have never done timing belt job before.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-05, 05:00 PM
Butchdodge
Visiting Guest
Hi, The guys are right. The belt dries and cracks,And if you do alot of high speed driving "Highway" if that belt brakes you are lookin at a very costly repair.Also the belt drives the waterpump for a minium cost I'd replace that to. Saves from redoing it. If your mechanically inclined ,get a chiltonbook at your local autoparts store for your vehicle.Read up it snot that bad.. I'm a dodgeman lol. Good Luck Jeff

Old 04-30-05, 12:30 AM
I'd do it at around 100. I have not seen any that broke before a 100K yet, on the other hand, your head gasket may goes first at around that 100K miles time frame, then it's cheaper to do head gasket job and timing belt replacement at the same time.

Old 04-30-05, 03:06 AM
Group Moderator
According to Gates (http://www.gates.com/downloads/downl...older=brochure) it's 100k or 105k for CA for some reason. Also indicates it's an interference engine, aka a valve-bender. Personally I would err on the side of caution and do it at 75,000 unless you were doing something related, like if the water pump craps and you have to open it up. Might also want to weigh how long you're likely to own the car. If you think you'll go 100k or so and then trade it or sell it, makes sense to do it now. If keeping it to 150k sounds more likely (and I'm not sure a Breeze will last that long) probably makes sense to do it around 75k. Either way you end up only having to do it once during your ownership hopefully.

Old 04-30-05, 04:18 AM