Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Replacing Starter in 93 Tercel

TN

04-29-05, 06:09 PM   #1  
Replacing Starter in 93 Tercel

My 1993 Toyota Tercel has become quite a pain to start. I generally have to turn the key anywhere from 3-20 times before the starter does its thing. Occasionally, I give up and roll it off. I posted a thread about this problem a couple of months ago, and it was suggested then that the starter was the problem.

So, I'm wondering how hard that starter is to replace. I'm not a mechanic, just a simple, DIY parts swapper. I've done a starter before, but a 1970 240 Ford engine is quite simple compared to this Japanese concoction.

Any particular tips/warnings you can offer?

Sponsored Links

NC

04-30-05, 02:00 AM   #2  
Just a tip...If you haven't isolated the problem to be the starter, check the ignition switch before replacing the starter if you're not hearing any clicking noise or starter related noise when turning the key to start. You can check for voltage at the soleniod with the key at run or use a remote starter switch ($10-$15, and no helper needed normally) available at sears or most auto parts stores to see if it works that way. Or take the starter off and have it tested at the auto parts store before buying the new one. Just trying to save you some money and hassle of replacing the starter without knowing it to be the problem.

Someone else should chime in with starter replacement help. Only advice on that I can give you is to disconnect the battery and use jack stands or ramps if you'll be working under the car. If you're buying a rebuilt starter, you should have it tested before taking it home. I had one before that didn't work when I installed it.

Group Moderator

FL

04-30-05, 02:54 AM   #3